An Ocean Of Street Art

Guest Post By Lisa Dorenfest

Sea Creatures Playing Poker - Oahu Artist: Ron English Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest February 2014
Sea Creatures Playing Poker
Artist: Ron English
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Oahu – February 2014

My love affair with the street art started in Oahu while sailing through Hawaii in 2014. I spotted ‘Sea Creatures Playing Poker’ when I went to renew our monthly marina-parking permit with Diamond Parking at the end of February.   It wasn’t there the month before.  I thought ‘I have to get a picture of this to share with my friends! Who wouldn’t love a picture of sea creatures playing poker?’ (Okay, maybe lots of people, but I LOVED It).

Queen Lili’uokalini and King Kalakaua - Oahu, Hawaii Artists: Gaia Solomon Enos and Prime Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - March 2014
Queen Lili’uokalini and King Kalakaua
Artists: Gaia Solomon Enos and Prime
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Oahu – March 2014

Sadly, I had ‘discovered’ this art form two weeks after the Pow! Wow! Hawaii 2014 festival concluded in Oahu.  I may have missed the festival but was hooked on the art. It seemed that wherever I looked, I saw it and had to photograph it.

Tahiti Street Art Artist: Unknown Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - July 2014
Tahiti Street Art
Artist: Unknown
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Tahiti – July 2014

My love affair deepened as I continued my sailing journey across the Pacific Ocean.

HERENUI - Tahiti Artist: Askew One Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - August 2014
HERENUI
Artist: Askew One
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Tahiti – August 2014

When my partner and I sailed onward to Tahiti in July of 2014, I was treated to a rich mosaic of works by several local and international artists, including those created as part of the ONO-U 2014 festival…

Made In France - Tahiti Artist: INTI Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - July 2014
Made In France
Artist: INTI
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Tahiti – July 2014

… which ended two months before my arrival.

Portion of Mural By TAHE, HTJ, SAJME, CRONOS, ABUZ, and Jops Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - Tahiti - July 2014
Portion of Mural By TAHE, HTJ, SAJME, CRONOS, ABUZ, and Jops
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Tahiti – July 2014

And I found an abundance of street art while sailing New Zealand during the 2014-2015-cyclone season.  You can find the whole gallery here.

Greetings From Aotearoa Artist: TrustMe Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - Auckland - November 2014
Greetings From Aotearoa
Artist: TrustMe
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Auckland – November 2014

Sadly, I continued to miss the festivals and gatherings, sometimes by just a few weeks.

Artist: BeFree Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - Dunedin - February 2015
Artist: BeFree
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Dunedin – February 2015

But when circumstances kept us in Auckland longer than planned, I finally experienced my first festival, All Fresco, in April 2015.

Askew One Creating Vegan To'Ona'i Image Credit: Lisa Dorenest - Auckland - April 2015
Askew One Creating Vegan To’Ona’i
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Auckland – April 2015

It was wonderful to enter the colorful world of so many incredibly talented and welcoming artists, many whose works I’d adored in other locations during my travels.   Having direct access to renowned artists and watching them give birth to masterful works was priceless. I consider my All Fresco 2015 experience to be one of the highlights of my round-the-world sailing journey.

Owen Dippie Creating 'Hine' Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest
Owen Dippie Creating ‘Hine’
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Auckland – April 2015

After enjoying a healthy street scene in New Zealand, I experienced a drought while sailing Fiji where the art form has not been embraced.

The Only Street Art I Saw In All Of Fiji Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - Vanua Levu - June 2015
The Only Street Art I Saw In All Of Fiji
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Vanua Levu – June 2015

But it was ‘game on’ again when we sailed through New Caledonia in October 2015. It was here that I started merging my loves of street art and street photography as people seemed to appear on the scene at just the right time.

Nouméa Streets Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - New Caledonia October 2015
Nouméa Streets
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – New Caledonia
October 2015

The 2015-2016-cyclone season brought us to Australia and a color explosion of street art.

Aboriginal Child Artist: Adnate Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - Newcastle - October 2015
Aboriginal Child
Artist: Adnate
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Newcastle – October 2015

From the first mural I spied the day of our arrival in Newcastle, through those that filled the street galleries in Sydney and Melbourne.

Look At Me Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - Melbourne - January 2016
Look At Me
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Melbourne – January 2016

….to the burgeoning art scene in Townsville, I was never without a color fix.

Sugar Glider Artist: Roa Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - Townsville - June 2016
Sugar Glider
Artist: Roa
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Townsville – June 2016

While I didn’t manage to attend a festival in Australia, I did have the good fortune of meeting several artists as they were creating their work on the streets.

Following favorite artists on Instagram allowed me to photograph important works before they were sadly removed.

Let Them Stay Artist: Camo Image Credit - Lisa Dorenfest - Newtown - February 2015
Let Them Stay
Artist: Camo
Image Credit – Lisa Dorenfest – Newtown – February 2015

I am particularly drawn to works with a message. The world is definitely a better place when we all get along!

Aussie Artist: Peter Drew Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest - Sydney - April 2016
Aussie
Artist: Peter Drew
Image Credit: Lisa Dorenfest – Sydney – April 2016

As we sail into the Indian Ocean in 2016, I look forward to seeing the street art on offer in South East Asia and beyond. And I am certain to see works there from some of my favorite Pacific artists as their talent continues to attract global audiences.

Dreaming Of The Sea (c) Lisa Dorenfest

 

 


45 thoughts on “An Ocean Of Street Art

    1. I know you share my love of street art (and all art for that matter) I am delighted you like the murals in this post. I am doing well…preparing to sail to Indonesia next week. Hope you are doing great!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am so excited that you both are continuing to head in this direction. What an exciting adventure you have ahead of you. I miss sailing in your neck of the woods and look forward to sailing there again someday!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words Sue! For the most part, these are lucky shots 🍀. I can only think of one instance where I envisioned the shot ahead of time and waited for a person to walk into the frame. It’s always a treat to happen upon a great mural – and it is icing on the cake when people / animals unexpectedly appear on the scene 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Enjoyed the post very much. I am not suprised Sea Creatures Playing Poker started Lisa off – it’s such fun.
    I’d like to see a festival being painted – I’d never thought of that before.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I so wish I had that talent but sadly don’t, so I just try to be a great audience member. Been thinking about your nature photography a lot lately. We’ve been touring Kakadu and have seen lots of birds you would just love..and lots of scary crocs too!

      Like

  2. Wow! I’m amazed at the talent! Great post Lisa! I’ve got a local artist I’m doing a blog on …he does Pencil Art of animals (you name it he draws it!!) He’s awesome and found out he only lives 3 doors down!! Small world! Hope all will pop in when I publish it!!
    Cheers! T. (Ladybuggz)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the photos. They are so good🙂. Looking forward to your update.

    I’m flying tonight to the Turkish Aegean Coast for couple of weeks. Apparently the farmers where I am volunteering on their farm like to go swimming in the sea, fishing and sailing (hopefully with a sail). I have not sailed for a very long time.

    w=320&bih=529#imgrc=DhACgq5mcyPQ1M%3A

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I look forward to hearing how your trip to the Turkish Aegean Coast goes. It would be great to see you sailing again! My partner sailed there for a couple of years and LOVED it. Have been thinking of you with all the goings on in Turkey. Hope you are well!

      Like

      1. Thank you for the lovely thoughts. That was kind of you.

        I was in London when they had the coup.

        It’s warm, windy (great to take the heat off and for sailing) and peaceful here in this part of the Turk Aegean Sea. Wild thyme, a plant which chewing gum is made up etc formed a thick canopy in the hills. I’m working on leaving some things behind and be mindful with others. It had been a very challenging 9 months in Turkey.

        At the moment, I’m waiting for the rest of my documents from China so as to enable me to apply for my work visa.

        Hope all is well.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve enjoyed your street art photos for a while now, but it was fun to see what got you started and some of the works you captured before I started following along! A chronicle of street art experiences as part of your circumnavigation is a unique twist – I foresee a great book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You always manage to make me smile with your comments Lexi! A book would be a(nother) dream come true. But if all I get out of this sailing journey is the opportunity to visit shed loads of great places, meet interesting people, see amazing works of art, and occasionally get the chance to hang out with artists (my inner groupie is dancing) I will be happy.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Love, love, love eastern Canada (actually, everything Canada) and look forward to seeing it through your eyes Janis. My travels took me there before street art became the rage, so I sadly missed their murals. But I know I can count on Canada to always embrace cool and awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Amazing shots, Lisa! It must have taken some time to select all these images for the post. You have so many incredible street art photos. I am still very happy to have witnessed the series you showed me in Auckland. I have gotten better at spotting them “everywhere” now. My favorite image is still “Hine” from Owen Dippie. Nothing beats seeing these works of art in real life.

    Liesbet @ Roaming About

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It did take a shed load of time to narrow my gallery down to 842 favorite pictures…and then to cull through those for this post. But I had some time on our sail from Cooktown to Darwin, so I used it to focus on this post. Showing you the street art in Auckland (and discovering a few new pieces along the way) was a total blast. And that picture of Owen Dippie creating Hine is still my favorite was well :-).

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I am so impressed by the talent of these street artists. When you just see one image on a street, it is interesting. When you see so many, from all around the world it is captivating. The image with the children behind the fence just haunts me- a great message in a time of “build a wall” mentality. You have the beginnings of a book here. 🙂 As always, I look forward to more! Safe travels!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I felt exactly the same way when I saw that image with the children behind the fence, once again proving that a picture is worth a thousand words. I wish I could be as succinct in communicating what is wrong with the world. It is truly one of my favorite pieces …although sadly is has since been removed. I am going to have to mull this ‘book’ idea over. Thanks as always for your compliments and encouragement Michele.

      Like

  7. I love this post Lisa so much! I too adore street art and this collection from your sailing travels is amazing!!! Hope all is well and looking forward to the next update!

    Like

    1. Thank you Nicole for your very kind and generous compliments. All is good but crazy busy here as we prepare to set sail for Indonesia. We were about 10 days behind schedule in getting to Darwin but thank goodness we managed to get in a few days at Kakadu National Park.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful street images all round, Lisa. Simply stunning. Sad to hear you missed some of the festivals but I am sure one day the timing will be right. You are very talented at this kind of photography – the street art stands out eventhough there are people in your shots. Australia certainly was a playground for you and your camera 😀 Hope you and crew and doing well. Lots of hugs from me, and also from Mr Wobbles 🙂

    Like

    1. Australia was indeed a playground for me Mabel and one of the highlights was seeing some of Melbourne’s awesome street art with you and Mr Wobbles! The crew of Amandla are doing well here in Darwin and getting quite excited for our passage to Indonesia in a few days. I can’t believe we are leaving Australia 😭. I hope we get to see you and Mr Wobbles in another port in our future!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Hooray! Found you again! (Hiding over at Liesbet’s place 🙂 ). I’m still a little in catch up mode so I’ll backtrack a bit. What an incredible collection! The eyes always draw me, but I love that little girl with the petals at her feet too. Great capture, Lisa! It’s one of the joys of walking through almost any city now, isn’t it? I’ve seen some fabulous stuff in the last year or two.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahoy Jo! I too am sadly behind on blogs given the long slog to Darwin and preparations to sail onward to Indonesia. I’ll be by for a visit before we head out tomorrow. Delighted you enjoyed my collection. I’ve loved the street art you’ve shared on your blog in past posts and look forward to seeing more from your travels. Big hug 🐙

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I just don’t understand how all this street art finds you. What I really don’t understand is how just the right person walks by as you take a shot. But fine…who can really understand fine art, eh, or miracles or really, anything else that happens in the world. I find it interesting that the one from Aotearoa says “wish you weren’t here. I wonder what’s up with that? For some reason, the one I like best is the one with pink hair by (it looks like) Mbid Bottoms. I’m a little disappointed that she painted a leaf over the originally bare breast. What’s up with that? Censorship or personal taste or just a change of mind…I wonder?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😄 😊You always know how to make me laugh…and blush Mr. Badfish. The ‘wish you weren’t here’ was a protest piece against Anadarko’s drilling in NZ. You would like Buttons if you met her …even if she covered the bare breast…she is quite adorable

      Liked by 1 person

      1. HA! Got it…NZ protest, that makes sense. If it were Prague, it would make another kind of sense, as apparently the locals in Prague don’t really like all the tourists! You can understand that. Sort of. And I love Buttons!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, they just don’t care to be nice, or friendly, or speak English. There are no signs at all in English! They don’t care if you don’t find Charles Bridge or the Absinthery

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment